Conversations with the HPTN

Calvin Mbeda, a member of the HPTN 075 study team and study coordinator at the Kisumu CRS in Kisumu, Kenya, has supported HIV prevention research community efforts since 2010. His passion has been working with different populations, including adolescent girls and young women, men who have sex with men, female sex workers and people living with HIV/AIDS.

DeMarcus Jones is an HPTN 083 and HPTN 083-01 outreach recruiter at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital in Memphis, TN. As a native Memphian, he continued his studies at the University of Memphis.

Cissy Ssuuna, an HPTN Community Working Group member and HPTN 084 protocol representative, is a community educator at the Baylor Uganda Clinical Research Site in Kampala, Uganda.

Pumeza Mzizi, a member of the HPTN 084 Community Working Group, is a community liaison officer for the Ward 21 clinical research site (CRS) at Wits RHI in Johannesburg. She has coordinated community engagement in randomized clinical trials (RCTs) for the past 20 years. Pumeza was first introduced to RCTs in 2001 when working on the DART study that was enrolling pregnant women living with HIV to evaluate the single-dose nevirapine in preventing mother-to-child transmission.