network groups and committees


The HPTN is comprised of a global network of investigators from Clinical Trials Units (CTUs), Leadership and Operations Center (LOC) which includes recognized experts in HIV prevention, leadership partners from the network Laboratory Center (LC) and Statistical and Data Management Center (SDMC) and various working groups and committees charged with the scientific management and operational support of the Network.


Network groups and committees chart



The EC Chair recommends, and the full EC approves, chair(s) and membership of the HPTN committees. Committee members serve for the duration of the cooperative agreement, and chairs serve three-year terms unless otherwise specified. Terms of committee chairs may be extended with the approval of the EC Chair. In addition to the SCs, and WGs, there are four key standing Network oversight committees (see below).


Executive Management Committee (EMC) 

The Executive Management Committee (EMC) is the key decision-making body in the HPTN and sets the overall HPTN scientific agenda. The HPTN PIs co-chair the EMC and are responsible for ensuring the efficient development and implementation of the HPTN scientific agenda as well as managing the Network and coordinating activities across the Leadership & Operations Center (LOC), Laboratory Center (LC) and the Statistical and Data Management Center (SDMC).