Conversations with the HPTN

Tereza Omoro, a community engagement expert, is a member of the HPTN Community Working Groups supporting studies such as HVTN 703/HPTN 081 (AMP) and HPTN 084. She has worked in HIV prevention research as a community educator with Kenya Medical Research Institute (KEMRI) Kisumu CRS. 

Dr. Steven Shoptaw is protocol co-chair for HPTN 094, a professor in the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA) departments of Family Medicine and Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences, and professor (Hon.) in psychiatry at the University of Cape Town.

AJ Winingham, a member of the HPTN 083 Community Working Group, is a community outreach coordinator in the Division of Infectious Diseases at the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. AJ completed an Associates of Arts Degree at St.

Dr. Ariane van der Straten, chair of the HPTN Behavioral Research Working Group, is director of the San Francisco-based Women's Global Health Imperative program at RTI International. She is also an RTI senior fellow and professor at the University of California at San Francisco School of Medicine's Center for AIDS Prevention Studies. Dr.