Conversations with the HPTN

Pumeza Mzizi, a member of the HPTN 084 Community Working Group, is a community liaison officer for the Ward 21 clinical research site (CRS) at Wits RHI in Johannesburg. She has coordinated community engagement in randomized clinical trials (RCTs) for the past 20 years. Pumeza was first introduced to RCTs in 2001 when working on the DART study that was enrolling pregnant women living with HIV to evaluate the single-dose nevirapine in preventing mother-to-child transmission.

Sean P. Sylve, a member of the HPTN 083 Community Working Group, is a clinical research and community engagement specialist in the Section of Adolescent Medicine in the Department of Pediatrics at Tulane University School of Medicine in New Orleans. He has been at the forefront of community organization, mobilization, HIV prevention and research in New Orleans for more than a decade.

Leo Perelis, a member of the HPTN 083 Community Working Group, is a community educator at the Hospital Ramos Mejía in Buenos Aires, Argentina. Since 1992 he has worked with people living with HIV and supported multiple HPTN, HVTN and IMPAACT studies, as well as the Dolutegravir and Darunavir Evaluation in Adults Failing Therapy (D2EFT) trial.

Rameses Frederick is the HPTN/HVTN Community Education and Recruitment Program Coordinator at Emory Hope Clinic Vaccine Center in Atlanta. He has supported the educational and recruitment strategies for two landmark clinical trials, HVTN 703/HPTN 081 and HPTN 083