Conversations with the HPTN

Dr. Manya Magnus, District of Columbia clinical trial unit leader, has been site principal investor for HPTN 083 among other HPTN studies, since 2008. She is a professor and interim chair of the Department of Epidemiology at the Milken Institute School of Public Health at George Washington University in Washington, DC. Dr.

Dr. Hyman Scott, HTPN 083 protocol team member and co-investigator for HPTN 091 at Bridge HIV in San Francisco, is the clinical research medical director at Bridge HIV and an assistant clinical professor of Medicine at the University of California, San Francisco.

Dr. Susan Buchbinder, HPTN 091 investigator, is director of Bridge HIV, a grant-funded research unit housed in the San Francisco Department of Public Health. She is also a clinical professor of Medicine and Epidemiology at UCSF, where she attends at San Francisco General Hospital and teaches in the Training in Clinical Research program.

Pamela Thandeka Tshandu, an HPTN 083-01 and HPTN 084-01 protocol team member, is a community liaison officer at Wits RHI in Johannesburg. Her work focuses on promoting the inclusion of all populations in HIV/AIDS prevention research, ensuring clinical trials are innovative, efficient, and timely.