The goal of the Adolescent Science Committee is to develop and review concepts for HIV prevention science for adolescents and young people (approximately 10-24 years old people) by providing guidance and input on HPTN research. We aim to ensure that the Network’s research portfolio is inclusive of adolescents, that research involving this population is tailored to their needs and addresses topics that are important to move forward the field of HIV prevention (and related topics) for adolescents and young people globally.


  • Susannah Allison (Voting member)
  • Phil Andrew (LOC Contact)
  • Tammy Buhler
  • Linda Gail-Bekker (Co-chair)
  • Fei Gao (SDMC Representative)
  • Brenda Gati Mirembe (Voting member)
  • Tanette Headen (LOC Representative)
  • Sybil Hosek  (EC Representative)
  • Lisa Hightow-Weidman (Voting member)
  • Audrey Pettifor (Chair)
  • Thanyawee Puthanakit (Voting member)
  • Stuart Rennie (Ethics Representative)
  • Lynda Stranix-Chibanda (Voting member)
  • Ethel Weld (LC Representative)
  • Ntando Yola (Community Representative)


Adolescent Science Committee Contact

Phil Andrew, FHI 360